Skip to main content

Business and Management: Resources

We know that finding academic literature and conducting research is an important part of completing most of your assignments. Here you will find a variety of relevant sources which we hope will help your studies. Remember to also check out our referencing guides.

Are you new to RGU? Have a look at our 'Welcome to the Library' pages for   on campus students  and   distance learning students !

Don't forget, you can always join one of our workshops or ask us if you get stuck or just need some help, we're happy to advise!

Essential Databases

 

BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE

abstracts and full text articles from both scholarly (peer reviewed) journals and trade/professional magazines on all aspects of business and management

company information on selected quoted companies and some industry and country economic reports

EMERALD

journal articles relating to accounting and finance, education, human resource management, organizational behaviour, library and information science, operations and project management, marketing, tourism and hospitality, and strategy

full text and abstracts of scholarly (peer reviewed)

SCIENCE DIRECT

articles in journals in business and management, engineering (including oil and gas), accounting, tourism and hospitality, finance, economics, psychology, and library and information science

abstract and full text formats from scholarly (peer reviewed)

INTERNATIONAL NEWSSTREAM

UK and international newspapers for about the last 10 years, including articles from the Financial Times (except for those published within the last month)

OnePETRO

full-text papers on oil and gas exploration and production (including the Society of Petroleum Engineers Papers) which may include some management and engineering topics

PLEASE NOTE: the papers on this database can only be used for non-commercial academic purposes and you must follow the terms and conditions

Other Useful Databases

 

SCOPUS

Database covering a large range of subject areas, with a variety of journal articles, conference papers, etc.

Although abstract only, you may get the full text by checking the Full Text at RGU link.

IBISWorld

a collection of industry market research and industry risk ratings

includes industry reports from UK, US and China, UK and US business environment profiles and Brexit impact statements

please note there is download limit of 25 reports for each user

MINTEL

market research/industry reports on UK consumer goods markets

Your RGU username and password will be required. Agree to the terms and conditions. When you have finished searching please log out and close down all browser windows.

FAME

UK company accounting data for up to the latest 10 years

OSIRIS

international company accounts

HENRY STEWART TALKS: BUSINESS AND MANAGEMENT

regularly updated animated audio visual presentations with narration in marketing and management

COBRA

a range of information intended to help entrepreneurs in setting up and running small businesses in the UK

SPRINGER LINK

full-text journals in the sciences and social sciences (current years, plus archive)

TAYLOR & FRANCIS ONLINE

full text journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine; also free archives in geography, planning, urban and environment

WILEY ONLINE LIBRARY

full text journals and eBooks covering life, health and physical sciences and social sciences

WESTLAW

UK, EU and international cases, legislation and legal journals

Login with your RGU username and password, then at the "Login to My Westlaw UK profile" screen select "Skip"

LEXIS LIBRARY

legal journals, newspapers, selected Scots Law and employment materials

NOTE: for UK cases please use Westlaw UK

TIMES DIGITAL ARCHIVE

full-text facsimile of more than 200 years (1785 - 2008) of The Times newspaper

FOOD SCIENCE SOURCE

articles from over 1400 journals, magazines and trade publications covering the food industry and related topics

access to industry and market reports

WEB OF SCIENCE

details of journal articles, conference papers and chapters covering all subject areas

can also be used to see how many times an article has been cited in later articles to trace the development of a topic

abstract only database - full-text can be checked for using the "Full Text @ RGU" link


New Books in the Library

 

Browse the collections

Why not check out our extensive collection of books and e-books related to your area of study?
Remember that you can always search for specific books or topics using our   LibrarySearch Tool  


Your Library Workshops

 

We offer free, informal workshops on various Library topics throughout the academic year and we would encourage you to come along if you'd like to improve your skills in:

  • referencing correctly
  • using the new LibrarySearch tool
  • efficiently using effective search strategies to find relevant material for your assignments
  • using RefWorks

If you have a specific question, or want a 1-1 discussion with us, you can also pop over to one of our drop-ins! They usually run in the mornings and afternoons, when we're not delivering workshops. Check out the   KnowHOW Timetable     for more details on dates and times. No need to book an appointment, just show up!

 

Here are the upcoming Library KnowHOW workshops relevant to Business and Management. We hope to see you there!


Useful Links

 

In case you are looking for additional sources of literature or want to expand on your current search, why not try our other databases or Google Scholar?

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a useful additional source when looking for journal articles. While our collection includes access to around 53 million journal articles (and growing!), unfortunately we will not have access to all materials you find on Google Scholar, so remember to check whether we subscribe to the resources listed in the results.

All our databases

Did you know that we currently subscribe to over 200 databases covering all subject areas taught in RGU? And you can access them for free! Have a look through our extensive list and discover something new!

A-Z LIST OF DATABASES

 

  library@rgu.ac.uk       01224 263450        RGU Library       @RGULibrary        Library Matters: RGU Library Blog