Skip to main content

OpenAIR: Using the repository

This guide will give you an introduction to OpenAIR, RGU's open access institutional repository.

Searching and browsing

Map and compass.

There are several ways to locate and discover content on OpenAIR, all of which can be accessed from the homepage.

1. General search

There is a general search box, which allows you to search the entire repository for the keywords you specify. The results page for the general search also enables you to apply "advanced filters", which help you to narrow down the results of your initial search.

2. Browse filters

There is a selection of filters, which allow you to search the entire repository based on a specific type of filter such as author name, item type, date and subject term. In addition to these, the rest of the right-hand menu (in the "Discover" section) provides some examples of specific authors, item types and subject terms, as well as the dates of all items in the repository by decade.

3. Browse collections

Items on OpenAIR belong to one or more collections, which themselves belong to "communities" (groups of collections). To browse among items within a specific community or collection, you can either: click through to the desired collection using the community links on the left-hand side of the homepage, or click the "Communities and collections" link in the right-hand menu. This will take you through to a community hierarchy, which enables you to navigate directly to the community or collection you want to view.

Demonstration of where to locate search and browse tools on OpenAIR.

Viewing statistics

OpenAIR currently supports Google Analytics statistics. To see the statistics associated with a specific record on OpenAIR, open the record in question and locate the "View Google Analytics Statistics" button at the bottom of the right-hand menu. The statistics available in this link show the total number of page views and item downloads per month.

Unfortunately, the repository does not currently display statistics covering all of a single researcher's work. However, if you would like to know these sorts of statistics, please get in touch with the team at publications@rgu.ac.uk and we will be able to compile them for you.

Requesting full text documents

In order to ensure compliance with the requirements of the REF and certain funding bodies, some publications will be uploaded to OpenAIR under an embargo. The embargo duration is determined by the publisher. Items that are under an embargo are still visible on the repository to help people discover them, but the full-text document is kept restricted.

In order to access an embargoed document, you must click on the padlock document link in the OpenAIR record (see the example below). This will open up a "request a copy" form.

Example of embargoed document link.

Once the OpenAIR team receive a request, we will forward this onto the RGU researcher who authored the publication, so that they can provide an individual copy in line with publisher permissions.